PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition - What’s new?

Insights | 11 April 2013
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) Fifth Edition Updates and Changes – What’s new?

The PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition was published earlier this year (January 2013).  What does this mean for you?

CAPM® and PMP® Credential Examinations

First of all if you are considering doing your Project Management Professional (PMP®) or Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM®) certification, cutover dates apply:

Exam Planned Exam date What version do I study?
CAPM® Prior to 1 July 2013 PMBOK® Guide Fourth Edition
CAPM® After 1 July 2013 PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition
PMP® Prior to 31 July 2013 PMBOK® Guide Fourth Edition
PMP® After 31 July 2013 PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition

If you are already a PMP® of good standing (that is you have already passed the exam and have been maintaining your professional development units) you do not need to re-do the PMP® exam.

For those holding the CAPM® credential this is valid for 5 years from date of successful completion of your exam.

Major Updates to the PMBOK® Guide

According to the Project Management Institute (PMI®), the Fifth Edition PMBOK® Guide reflects the evolving knowledge within the profession of project management and represents generally recognized good practice in the profession.

Major updates include:

  • A new Knowledge Area, Project Stakeholder Management, has been added, focusing on identifying and engaging stakeholders.  This increases the number of Knowledge Areas from nine to ten.
  • Four new planning processes have been included to reinforce the concept that each Knowledge Area requires a planning focus in terms of how that area will be planned and executed.  The processes are:
  1. Plan Scope Management
  2. Plan Schedule Management
  3. Plan Cost Management
  4. Plan Stakeholder Management
  • The Standard for Project Management of a Project has now been moved to an Annex of the PMBOK® Guide.  This positions the Standard for Project Management away from the main body of the Guide, allowing for the evolution of the PMBOK® guide separate from the actual Standard.

As a result of the update, the PMBOK Fifth Edition now has 47 project management processes (Fourth Edition has a total of 42 processes).  The following table reflects the mapping of the project management processes within the 5 Project Management Process Groups and 10 Knowledge Areas.

Click here to download the 10 Knowledge Areas

PMI®-PMP®/CAPM® Exam Preparation Workshop (5 days)

PMBOK®, PMI®, PMP® and CAPM® are registered trademarks of Project Management Institute, Inc.
©Project Management Institute. A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) – Fifth Edition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enquire Now


1300 70 13 14


Stay Informed

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive quarterly industry news updates and stay informed of forthcoming PM-Partners group events.